Channel: Growing Bored For a Living
Viewing all articles
Browse latest Browse all 2705

Towering Above the Rest (Part 1)

(Scott)....no kidding, "towering above the rest".....latest super-contributor Jon Scheiner sends this brain-
bending collection (24 discs total!) of Radiohead rarities...B-sides, demos, live cuts, remixes, alternate takes......you name it. Obviously I haven't listened to all of it yet, but just look at the track lists below and you'll certainly see there are some (many) gems here.

As I've insinuated before, certain bands have a rep for not wanting their music shared.....a partial list includes Corrosion of Conformity, Green Day, Sublime, Bratmobile, Robert Fripp, and others......not making any allegations here, simply that if you want this, you MAY wish to act quickly.....I've never had an issue with Radiohead before, I have never posted any of their "official" material, and this continues the trend.....still, be aware of what I say.

This is but part one (of two) of this, whomever compiled this REALLY DOES "tower above the rest" as far as producing a complete labor of love......thanks to the creator, and thanks to Jon S. for sharing. Part 2 likely tomorrow.


This is just 1/2 of the mammoth Towering Above The Rest Compilation, a fan made collection of b-sides, rarities, live tracks, and re-mixes. From what I've seen this was created around 2004, after Hail To The Thief and before In Rainbows, but a song from the most current release originally debuted in 1995 so it really doesn't matter. Honestly, I doubt I'll ever listen to all of this and it will take some sifting but there are plenty of gems to be found. As for the absolute completists: today is your lucky day!

Towering Above the Rest Complete Disc 01 (Singles B-Sides)

01 Prove Yourself/02 Stupid Car/03 You/04 Thinking About You/05 Inside My Head/06 Million Dollar Question/07 Faithless the Wonder Boy/08 Coke Babies/09 Pop is Dead/10 Yes I Am/11 The Trickster/12 Punchdrunk Lovesick Singalong/13 Lozenge of Love/14 Lewis (Mistreated)/15 Permanent Daylight/16 You Never Wash Up After Yourself/17 Maquiladora/18 Killer Cars/19 India Rubber/20 How Can You Be Sure/21 Talk Show Host/22 Bishop's Robes/23 Banana Co/24 Molasses

Towering Above the Rest Complete Disc 02 (Singles B-Sides)

01 Polyethylene(Part 1 and 2)/02 Pearly/03 A Reminder/04 Melatonin/05 Meeting in the Isle/06 Lull/07 Palo Alto/08 How I Made My Millions/09 Fast Track/10 The Amazing Sounds of Orgy/11 Trans-Atlantic Drawl/12 Kinetic/13 Cuttooth/14 Life in A Glass House(Full Length)/15 Worrywort/16 Fog/17 Paperbag Writer/18 Where Bluebirds Fly

Towering Above the Rest Complete Disc 03 (B-Sides Live)

01 Fake Plastic Trees (live)/02 Street Spirit [Fade Out] (live)/03 Just (live)/04 Paranoid Android (live)/05 Climbing Up The Walls (live)/06 No Surprises (live)/07 Optimistic (live)/08 The Bends (live)/09 Inside My Head (live)/10 Fake Plastic Trees (acoustic)/11 Bulletproof I Wish I Was (acoustic)/12 My Iron Lung (live)/12 Street Spirit [Fade Out] (live)/14 Banana Co. (live)/15 Permanant Daylight (live)/16 Lucky (live)/17 Fake Plastic Trees (live)/18 Paranoid Android (instrumental)

Towering Above the Rest Complete Disc 04 (B-Sides Live)

01 Bones (live)/02 Planet Telex (live)/03 Anyone Can Play Guitar (live)/04 Creep (live)/05 Ripcord (live)/06 Just (live)/07 Airbag (live)/08 Lucky (live)/09 Fake Plastic Trees (live)/10 Street Spirit [Fade Out] (live)/11 Dollars and Cents(live)/12 The National Anthem(live)/13 Idioteque (live)/14 Just (live)/15 Fake Plastic Trees (live)/16 Anyone Can Play Guitar (live)/17 Bones (live)/18 Street Spirit [Fade Out] (live)/19 My Iron Lung (live)

Towering Above the Rest Complete Disc 05 (B-Sides Live)

01 Creep (live)/02 My Iron Lung (live)/03 Stop Whispering (live)/04 Punchdrunk Lovesick Singalong(live)/05 Fake Plastic Trees (live)/06 Blow Out (live)/07 Bones (live)/08 Nice Dream (live)/09 High And Dry (live)/10 You (live)/11 My Iron Lung (live)/12 Creep (live)/13 My Iron Lung (live)/14 Just (live)/15 Maquiladora (live)/16 The Bends (live)/17 Prove Yourself (live)/18 Creep (live)

Towering Above the Rest Complete Disc 06 (Live & Radio Collection)

01 National Anthem (Live)/02 I Might Be Wrong (Live)/03 Morning Bell (Live)/04 Like Spinning Plates (Live)/05 Idioteque (Live)/06 Everything In Its Right Place(Live)/07 Dollars And Cents (Live)/08 True Love Waits(live)/09 Banana Co(Acoustic)/10Killer Cars(Live)/11 Vegetable(Live)/12 You(Live)/13 Creep(Acoustic)/14 Nothing Touches Me (BBC)/15 Everything In It's Right Place(BBC Remix)/16 The National Anthem (BBC Remix)/17 How To Disappear Completely (BBC Remix)/18 Idioteque (BBC Remix)

Towering Above the Rest Complete Disc 07 (On A Friday Demo)

01 Keep Strong/02 Somebody Else/03 I Want To Know/04 I'm Coming Up/05 Jerusalem/06 What Is It That You Say/07 Something To Hate/08 I Can't/09 Without You/10 Give It Up/11 How To Be Sure/12 Everybody Lies Through Their Teeth/13 Rattlesnake In A Big City/14 The New Generation/15 What Is It That You Say/16 Stop Whispering/17 Give It Up (Version 2)/18 I Can't (version 2)/19 Nothing Touches Me/20 Phillipa Chicken/21 Thinking About You/22 You

Towering Above the Rest Complete Disc 08 (Early)

01 An Airbag Saved My Life (early)/02 Paranoid Android (early)/03 Subterranean Homesick Alien (acoustic)/04 Exit Music For A Film (early)/05 Karma Police (early)/06 Electioneering (early)/07 Climbing Up The Walls (early)/08 No Surprises Please (early)/09 Lucky (early)/10 How To Disappear Completely And Never be Found (early)/11 Motion Picture Soundtrack (early)/12 Life In A Glass House (early)/13 True Love Waits (early)/14 Let Down (early)/15 High and Dry (early)/16 Just (early)/17 Fake Plastic Trees (early)

Towering Above the Rest Complete Disc 09 (Pre-HTTT Live)

01 Lift/02 Follow Me Around/03 Big Boots/04 I Promise/05 Wicked Child/06 Reckoner/07 Nude/08 Wolf At The Door/09 Scatterbrain/10 I Will/11 Sail To The Moon/12 Myxomatosis/13 Up On The Ladder/14 Punch Up At A Wedding/15 We Suck Young Blood/16 Go To Sleep/17 Sit Down Stand Up/18 2+2=5/19 There There/20 Where I Am And You Begin

Towering Above the Rest Complete Disc 10 (Covers and Collaborations)

01 Cowboy Song/02 After The Gold Rush/03 Shot By Both Sides/04 Union City Blues/05 Nobody Does It Better/06 Cinnamon Girl/07 Rhinestone Cowboy/08 Be Mine/09 It's The End Of The World As We Know It (R.E.M.)/10 Sing A Song For You/11 If You Tolerate This...Your Children Will Be Nest/12 I'll Wear It Proudly/13 The Thief (Can cover)/14 I'm Set Free/15 Wonderwall/16 Wish You Were Here (w_Sparkelhorse)/17 Rabbit In Your Headlights (w_UNKLE)/18 I've Seen It All (w_Bjork)/19 Winter Wonderland/20 Where Will You Be This Christmas

Towering Above the Rest Complete Disc 11 (Covers & Edits)

01 El Presidente (w_drugstore)/02 Online (w_PJ Harvey)/03 Beautiful Feeling (w_PJ Harvey)/04 This Mess We're In (w_PJ Harvey)/05 I Don't Want To Go To Woodstock (w_ Headless Chicken)/06 E-Bow The Letter (w_Michael Stipe)/07 Untogether (w_Belly)/08 In Limbo (w_Clinic)/09 Lucky (w_Michael Stipe)/10 In Limbo (w_ Nigel Godrich)/11 Blowout (w_The Posies)/12 Leave (w_Michael Stipe)/13 Fake Plastic Trees (Alanis Morissette)/14 Creep (Friendly)/15 Let Down (edit)/16 Just (edit)/17 Fake Plastic Trees (edit)/18 Idioteque (edit)/19 I Might Be Wrong (edit)/20 There There (Radio Edit)

Towering Above the Rest Complete Disc 12 (Webcast & B-Sides)

01 Knives Out/02 There There/03 Jonny's Techno/04 Ed's Scary Song/05 Wicked Child/06 The Gloaming/07 I Froze Up/08 Good Morning Mr Magpie/09 E2-E4/10 5ths Reversed/11 Chenobyl 2/12 Duped 94bpm/13 Broken Bass Bin/14 33.3 Recurring/15 Try To Save Your Prize/16 Skkatterwave/17 I Am Citizen Insane/18 Fog (Again)/19 Gagging Order/20 I Am A Wicked Child/21 I Will (Los Angeles Version)/22 There There (Demo)/23 Where I End and You Begin Demo

Viewing all articles
Browse latest Browse all 2705

Latest Images

Trending Articles

Latest Images